PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety after death of mum & sister,

fluff1978
21-06-19, 11:16
Hi,

This is my first time ever posting, I'm just looking to see what other people think as i'm still very confused.

I lost my mum at 63 to a stroke 3 years ago totally unexpected only then to lose my sister who was 40 to a PE again only 3 months after losing my mum, totally unexpected, they were both fit and healthy ladies.

I've been as ok as expected for a while until the end of last year when my gallbladder decided to play end ending up with me having out in March this year, well since then everything has been terrible.

Suffering with extreme dizziness, palpation's, acid relfux. Which has ended up with me having lots of test, which have all come back fine, nothing wrong with me at all. So health anxiety has been mentioned, which now i'm starting to think is what is wrong, the pain and feelings are there for sure, not making them up but my question is, am I causing them??

My doctor has given me a short supply of Diazepam to take when i'm feeling very anxious or concerned, but I am now worried about long term, what can I do to help thus go away? I didn't even know what it was, so I'm still quite concered.

Can anyone offer any tips of advice, I have cut out alcohol, coffee, I am eating healthy, walking lots.

Carnation
21-06-19, 11:25
Hi fluff,
Yes all those symptoms point to anxiety and it would be perfectly understandable to have adopted health anxiety after reading your story.
Pleased to hear you are already looking after yourself, buy as for meds, I can't help as I don't take any.
Maybe another member will be able to share their experience?

Carys
21-06-19, 19:09