PDA

View Full Version : First Time for Everything

tonkaboy
17-09-07, 21:08
Hi,

This is my first time on a web forum, so please be gentle with me!

I have suffered from anxiety on and off for several years but have generally not let it interfere with my life. The last 3 years have proved to be a different matter however. I have been under enormous pressure at work, moved house, lost my father to cancer and my mother suffered a heart attack a couple of months later. Fortunately she survived. Add to this the birth of my first child and you can see I have had an emotionally challenging time. The form of my anxiety has changed and most of the physical symptoms have subsided or don't bother me any more. What I have found is my self confidence has taken a real beating and I'm now haunted by irrational thoughts. I find this much more difficult to cope with. I'm terrified of doing something wrong or bad. I find it extremely difficult to convince myself that the thoughts are only thoughts, even though deep down I know they are. I hope that makes sense!

I've found Claire Weekes books very useful but the bit I struggle with is 'accepting' - how do I do this with something that frightens me, in practical terms I mean?

Anyway, I found some of the threads on this forum extremely interesting and re-assuring, so I thought I'd give the site a go.

All the best.

A

KrazyKaz07
17-09-07, 21:14
Hello Tonkaboy :)

A very big warm :welcome: to you!!

Lindalou64
17-09-07, 22:01
Hello Tonkaboy And Welcome Im Sure You Will Find Lots Of Support And Info.wish Ya The Best........linda

nomorepanic
17-09-07, 22:03
Hi A

Welcome aboard.

Have a good read around the website pages on the left for help and reassurance.

Hope we can be of help.

Southern_Belle
17-09-07, 22:11
Hi A,

Welcome to NMP. You have had a lot of stressful things happen to you in quite a short time. You will find this to be an informative site with tons of support.

Hugs,

Laura

groovygranny
17-09-07, 22:40