PDA

View Full Version : Escitalopram - stick with it or stick it?

Biggle
21-01-05, 13:55
Hello everyone.

This is my first post. I think firstly I'll say what a delight it is to have found this forum. I have been reading through the posts and have found them very helpful, particularly as there is an absence of anti/pro-med agendas that appear to prevade other websites.

Now for an introduction and a description of where I am currently. I could really do with some advice. I'll try not to go on too long.

I have been off work for 3 months now. My GP first diagnosed me with anxiety from being overworked.

The symptoms I went with I had been expreiencing for about 3 months before:
Insomnia - averaging 4 hours sleep a night (previously sleeping 7/8) some nights sleeping an hour and a half. Impossible to get to sleep - thoughts racing, smallest sounds keeping me awake. Pulsations in temples and pressure felt in forehead. Weakness in the legs, periods of exhaustion, moments when I felt like I was going to collapse, butterflies in the stomach for no apparent reason, general sense of dread, fits of rage over small things, snapping at people close to me, feeling very hot at night, uncontrollable scratching of the calves (of all places).

GP gave me Lorazepam - this gave me a different problem. Sleeping more, but a full dose (1mg x3) made me drowsy and absent-minded. Very difficult to get out of bed. Not able to function properly - going back to work out of the question. Taking it in halves made it slightly better, but then sometimes would not enable me to sleep - very difficult to find a happy medium.

I have just seen a psychiatrist who has taken a slightly different line - diagnosing depression with moderate anxiety.

My meds are now:
Escitalopram (5mg for 3 days then 10mg)
Bromazepam 1.5mg morning
Lormetazepam 1mg last thing at night.