PDA

View Full Version : How do you cope?

Mav
26-09-19, 18:03
I have had by far the worst week, I am sure I deal with OCD though I'm yet undiagnosed with anything, the time spent ruminating and the disturbing/upsetting intrusive thoughts have been immense. I cant even rationally reason or logic with my brain. I cant believe I made it through this week as it was so severely hard, at one point I sincerely considered dying would be better than an existence like this.

But I'm going to learn to cope, how do you cope? I've been speaking with someone with OCD in another country and she tells me that full time work has helped her, along with self help books for OCD and a therapist. I'm starting to think finding a job (at the moment I'm studying from home) will help me cope and force me out of rumination cycles when the thoughts get bad because I dont have a choice but to go to work and pretend to be happy.

My life is a joke, I spent two years of my teenage years believing I was going to die of cancer, and now my days are spent obsessed with my morality and obsessing over past mistakes and constantly seeking reassurance. This is no life really, just an existence.

MyNameIsTerry
27-09-19, 03:45
Hi Mav,

I'm sorry to hear you are struggling. :hugs::flowers:

Geting a diagnosis is useful in accessing treatment and understanding something is what you thought so you have some medical validation but you certainly have anxiety disorder(s) of some variety and so you can look to the resources to understand the enemy and how to respond to it. This is essential, in my opinion, with something like OCD because many of the themes are something we wouldn't realise until we either experience them in some way (whether ourselves or others) or educate ourselves about how wide ranging a disorder it is. Diagnosis can also mean a different treatment path but to be honest most GP's are going to down down a standard path at the beginning.