PDA

View Full Version : Posting patterns

MrLurcher
08-10-19, 11:05
Sorry, this isn't a health related post, but just wanted to put an idea out there. I was thinking about this forum, and because I work in marketing, I often have to research patterns and behaviours of customers/clients.

Not sure if anyone else has noticed, but HA worries almost seem contagious. I've been on this forum for nearly a year now, and noticed a few trends. Back in December - Jan, we had quite a few people posting about MS/ALS related worries. February - April, I could see a trend with bowel worries and more recently there seems to be quite a few posters (myself included) with lymph node worries!

I don't know if anyone else has noticed patterns, but maybe health anxiety can be contagious. Obviously there are lots of triggers on here, which may explain it all.

Kitkat99
08-10-19, 11:38
Well I can’t speak for anyone else but I often find myself coming here and reading something and then worrying about the same thing, or getting triggered by something.

Fishmanpa
08-10-19, 12:29
Definitely a pattern. You should have seen the boards during the ebola scare! And the post patterns are definitely related to news. When a disease makes the headlines for most any reason, you're bound to see threads pop up.

Positive thoughts

NancyW
08-10-19, 13:18
You should have seen the boards during the ebola scare!

I was not, and did not have HA over it. Nonetheless, it scared the shit out of me when my son had Ebola training and got the big white suit. 😟

gailveronica
08-10-19, 15:44
How interesting! I do know that worry is "contagious" - my husband and I have been watching Breaking Bad again (before the movie comes out) and I have to stop the binge sometimes because the illness in it is too real for me and I start poking and prodding...