PDA

View Full Version : Health and holidays

Munki
05-01-20, 14:17
Hey guys,

I’m fine until I go overseas- that’s when I tend to get all sorts of panics such as heart racing - is it a heart attack, landed on my bum hard when snowboarding and it rattled my head - do I have a brain injury etc!

How do you guys normalise the panics when you’re abroad? How do you ‘reason’?

Any advice would be truly appreciated 🙌🏼

ankietyjoe
05-01-20, 17:05
Hey guys,

I’m fine until I go overseas- that’s when I tend to get all sorts of panics such as heart racing - is it a heart attack, landed on my bum hard when snowboarding and it rattled my head - do I have a brain injury etc!

How do you guys normalise the panics when you’re abroad? How do you ‘reason’?

Any advice would be truly appreciated 

From your other thread -

If you're a complete novice you won't be going anywhere near a slope that could injure you badly.

Worst case scenario is bruised ass.

Get out there and enjoy it.

Slight lol.

Well this is really all about safety nets. At home you can run to the sofa and do what you usually do to calm down. When you're abroad, you can't do that.

Munki
05-01-20, 17:23
From your other thread -

Slight lol.

Well this is really all about safety nets. At home you can run to the sofa and do what you usually do to calm down. When you're abroad, you can't do that.

Yes, of course it is. The logic is apparent but I'm wondering how people normalise it. How do you deal with it when the panic kicks in?

The snowboarding thread, I did read on the other post. This is more about generalised health anxiety overseas, they were simply two examples.

ankietyjoe
05-01-20, 18:58
How do you deal with it at home? What's different about being on holiday that you can't normalise your anxiety there?