PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety about work

anne1980
01-10-07, 16:56
Hi

This is my first post but I've been reading the forum for the past couple of weeks whilst I've been off sick from work with anxiety and panic. My first panic attack happended a few months ago when driving a client to an appointment whilst at work (I'm a social worker). I then started avoiding driving whenever I could and getting terrible anxiety in other aspects of the job, such as attending meetings. Looking back now i can see it's a build up of several stressful things happening over the past couple of years. This has gradually got worse to the point that i started a new job (same work, different council) and only lasted a week and half before I felt like I'd lost the plot and went to see my doctor in a terrible state, and got signed off. I thought that the change of environment would cure it as I've worked in this team before and really enjoyed it. So now I've convinced myself it's the job that i can't cope with as I have been fine in my home life and all of my panic attacks seem to happen at work. Is it time to look for something else?, I feel like a terrible failure as I've spent the last 4 years working towards getting qualified. I've spoken to my boss today and in all honesty they've been really good and said I can come back and take it slowly. I'm just terrified that going back will tip me back over the edge as I feel a bit better now. I would really appreciate any advice, and sorry for the ramble!

thanks x

bearcrazy
01-10-07, 21:46
(((((((((((((((((((((Anne))))))))))))))))))))))))

Hi Anne,