PDA

View Full Version : Preparing to go to work

knightbabe
04-10-07, 15:32
I am due to start work on Monday. This is the first time since having panic attacks. Firstly it is somewhere I have never worked before and I will be doing a job that I have done before. It is less than a 5 minute drive from home, but anyone who has seen my other posts will know that driving is my problem. Today in preparation I put the dog in the back of the car, mobile on the front passenger seat, turned the stereo on and started the engine. I must point out that my panic normally sets in on the walk from the front door to the car. So far nothing. Seatbelt on, select gear, deselect handbrake and I'm off. I decided to go round the block, anyway upon getting to the entrance of my road I felt good so thought I'd extend my drive. This whole drive took less than 5 minutes. But I feel great for finally facing my fears. Until now I have avoided driving, or if I have had to drive I have had someone in the car with me. I feel I have made a big achievement today and just wanted to share it with others. Not sure if its the meds or just shear determination on my part that I managed to do it.
My new boss is breaking me in gently next week, only doing 9-2.

beauty
04-10-07, 15:39
Hiya Knighbabe,