PDA

View Full Version : OCD and handwashing/cleaning in overdrive, any tips?

Nighttime pacer
20-03-20, 01:53
Hi all,
Well aren't we lucky that coronavirus is such a treat for those of us with health anxiety.
In all seriousness, I think in some ways it's made me more ready for it and vigilant.
I have a problem though, I'm pretty much self isolating as I work in the entertainment industry which has now stopped!
I'm being very careful too as I have slight asthma.
My main worry is that I keep washing and drying my hands, I realise it's getting out of control.
I'm getting really good about not touching my face but still wash my hands before I touch the computer or a tv remote, but then think I might not have done it right blah blah blah, I'm sure this is the usual OCD pattern.
I bought a load of isopropyl alcohol wipes too and disposable gloves and keep using those. Trouble is I'm convinced I'll catch it from something from groceries to the car door to door handles, light switches. I'm obsessively cleaning them and it's ruling my life at the moment.
I just wondered if anyone had any tips in this bizarre and awful time.
Thanks
Nighttime Pacer

glassgirlw
20-03-20, 02:11