PDA

View Full Version : Just tested positive - no symptoms

DaisyFay
25-08-20, 23:03
Hi,

I took a covid test as all my children were sick last week. They all tested negative but I tested positive. I’m so confused as I have no symptoms?

I’m now beside myself with worry about my children suddenly getting worse, they haven’t been bad at all but I’m terrified they will get pneumonia or something!? I’m just assuming they had it too long before the test to pick up the positive??

Or me suddenly behind hit with awful symptoms.

It’s been 7 days since my children fell ill and 4 days since I took the test.

My health anxiety is off the chart. I’m sooo scared for what might come.

I know no one can tell me what will happen but I just wonder if anyone has come across positive tests with no symptoms? Or could even offer a few words of reassurance while I’m panicking and trying to avoid google.

Thank you x

fishman65
26-08-20, 00:13
DaisyFay :hugs:First of all, I'm no doctor so not in a position to give you 100% reassurance. I really wish I could. OK I'm not going to try and work out why the test results came back the way they have. However, what I will say is that children very rarely have severe illness with Covid and more to the point, I'm assuming they are better now from what you are saying?

As for yourself, I'm making another assumption in that you are a fairly young mother?

Gary A
26-08-20, 00:47
Asymptomatic infection with Covid-19 is not at all unusual, especially in younger age groups. If I remember correctly, it’s estimated that around 35% of all positive cases are completely asymptomatic.

DaisyFay
26-08-20, 13:49
Thank you so much for the reply.

It’s just my eldest, who is still a preschooler, she has asthma and is still coughing. But it’s not consistent and she is playing. I’m trying really hard to think they are through it rather than panic about them taking a bad turn.

I’m in my mid-30s. I just feel a little off. Nothing to bat an eyelid at.