PDA

View Full Version : Post-Covid Mental Health.

Zilde
14-12-20, 15:27
I’m hoping someone here can point me in the right direction please.

I work in a hospital as a care assistant and I caught Covid around 2 months ago in October during a ward outbreak, I suspect. Being an anxiety sufferer I can’t describe into words how much stress and mental torment this experience put me under, despite only really having mild symptoms.

The mental effects are continuing to this day and I’m finding myself in a very dark and lonely place. Everytime I feel a chill, or feel slightly warm or a little fatigued my mind thinks I am once again fighting Covid. It is extremely distressing. I don’t know if this could be classed as some kind of PTSD. I was having the physical symptoms of anxiety before I had Covid and they felt similar to a flu illness at times. My brain seems to think the covid has never actually gone away.

I have had antibody test and I was positive. So I know the chance of recatching it so soon is quite low. But anytime I feel any kind of wierd physical sensation my brain is starting to go into panic again.

I can’t keep living like this. I have been prescribed Mirtazipine and Diazepam but the mental anguish from this illness remains in my mind like a trauma that I can’t forget.

If someone could tell me what my next course of action should be or if anyone else finds themself in a similar position after having covid I would appreciate hearing from you very much because I am in despair at this. I don’t know where to turn anymore.

Coni2
20-12-20, 07:51