PDA

View Full Version : panic again

jennie
05-11-03, 17:28
Hi, I'm new to this and NEVER EVER shared anything on email with people I don't know. So this is a first for me (maybe this is my first step to helping myself?).

Anyway, I suffered my first panic attack back in about 1996. I don't really know why I did but looking back I was pretty miserable and low in general and I had a very selfish boyfriend who was a bit of a bully emotionally. I also hate confrontations and therefore seem to play my cards close to my chest and bottle up feelings.

After my first attack happened I was very nervous and knew I had had my first panic attack. From there on it was a vicious circle BUT I did eventually conquer it through exercise, positive thinking, relaxation, treating myself to facials, head massage, back massage, and the anxiety eventually after about 12 months petered out and went completely. I was able to get back on the underground tube, go in lifts - you name it, I could do it!

Anyway, completely out of the blue I suffered a panic attack about 2 weeks ago whilst I was in bed trying to get to sleep. For the last 2 weeks it's been pretty awful at night time because I now associate a panic attack with bedtime. It takes me ages to get off to sleep and I lay awake, trying to breathe properly to get myself through the waves of panic that 'try' to come over me. I've kind of managed to get through the anxious feelings and have eventually fallen off to sleep. But last night I had a really bad attack of the shakes. I was quite upset that this had happened because I felt that the attack had won - when for the last week or so I'd been fighting them off. So now I'm paranoid that I'm now going to experience an even worse attack of the shakes or something even more horrible.