PDA

View Full Version : please help

tiger16
02-11-07, 13:03
Hi everyone,
I am a student on an Alevel Media Studies course. I am currently writing an essay entitled 'How mental illness is depicted in film'. I just wondered if you could all help by letting me know your opinions, do you think films glamourise mental illness? Or are they accurate? Films such as 'Girl Interrupted' , 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' etc. Any comments will be very much appreciated. xxx

bottleblond
02-11-07, 13:29
Hi there,

OK i got a comment.

Firstly i despise the term "MENTAL ILLNESS", it makes me feel inferior and degraded. I suffer from anxiety/panic attacks but my mental capacity and brain function is as good as the next persons.
Sorry if that sounded a little snappy, i could be wrong but you may find a few more comments like this!

take care and good luck with your studies

Lisa

Tom_M
02-11-07, 13:40
Sometimes real life is stranger than fiction. I remember when I was in a dilapidated psychiatric ward about 30 years ago. I went in there to get better but signed myself out feeling much worse. Some of the things that happened to me where: being attacked by a paranoid schizophrenic, being urinated on during the night by a poor guy with Alzheimer's, and being woke up every hour by a guy with manic depression wanting to shake my hand. They should of separated people with non-psychotic problems, but I guess a shortage of staff and accommodation meant they had to put everyone in the same ward. I don't think it's like that now. I think it as changed a lot for the better.

michellemumof4
02-11-07, 14:15
WOW

Ok i guess peeps here Know how i feel about the Use of the words Mental Illness FIRST AND FOREMOST this site is anxiety related and NOT mental illness,

To refer to films such as One flew over the cuckoo's nest ... How very dare you !! films like that show people who have Pyscosis , and ANYONE knows anxiety is a Neurosis so you are WAY off the parr with that comment Dearie ...