PDA

View Full Version : How to stop the bots

WiredIncorrectly
25-01-21, 11:48
You need to put recaptcha on signup/login, and stop new members from posting until their first few posts have been vetted. I don't mind doing some post vetting. They're robots, and robots don't do very well with recaptcha. Those that do will have their posts vetted/ghosted.

:yesyes:

NoraB
25-01-21, 12:03
Does my head in does this!

WiredIncorrectly
25-01-21, 12:09
Does my head in does this!

Same Nora. Being a web developer myself I've had to deal with this numerous times. One time they were spamming the life out of my comments section on my blogs.

If admin doesn't mind setting up a few mods that only have access to vetting new posts I'll gladly help out. I'm at my PC a lot anyway.

nomorepanic
25-01-21, 13:25
recaptcha is already on.

If we moderate first posts it is a lot of extra work and it stops overnight visitors from posting until we are around to do it.

We did this before and it was just more work for the admins.

WiredIncorrectly
25-01-21, 14:19
I haven't seen recaptcha on login, but that's not the issue really. If the bot can get past recaptcha then that solution is pointless. Sadly there are numerous sweatshops in India and China where people sit there completing them for the bots. It's something like a penny per captcha or something like that. Google "death by captcha" ... that's the API the bots use.

Circumventing this problem without manually checking posts is most definitely possible.

How about ensuring new users can't post links until they've surpassed say ... 20 posts? Rate limit how many posts a new user can make in a given space of time?

I could write a vBulletin plugin for this easily. It would even detect URL's that are masked such as "somewebsite (dot) com" etc.