PDA

View Full Version : Asking questions is making a difference

carriewriting
17-03-21, 10:38
Hi all, lately I've been making some progress with my health anxiety.

Therapy has uncovered that I have a lot of shame and embarrassment about my health anxiety. Often I put on a brave face/act at doctor's appointments, but then go home and spiral or panic about things that have been said that I was too ashamed to ask about.

Now I'm forcing myself to ask more questions and it's making a big difference. For example, yesterday I had my eyes checked for an issue I had last year and while things still aren't normal the doc said it's nothing to be concerned about and we'll keep monitoring it. Normally I would have just left, but instead I kept asking questions about every panicked thought in my head and by the end of the appointment I was feeling calm and reassured.

An example of where I didn't do this was today when I saw my GP. Everything was fine at my appointment, but as I was leaving she reminded me that I needed follow-up blood tests for my iron level and liver function.

I had slightly elevated liver function last year but at my test in November she said it was back in the normal range. My iron levels have been low for years (but not anaemic so she's just keeping an eye on it.)

So I wasn't surprised about the iron, but I was thrown about the liver function. I had a fear reaction, but didn't act on it. I should have asked her about it, but I didn't and now it's nagging at me. Lesson learned. Ask the questions!

Sharing in case this helps you too :)

Carys
17-03-21, 11:05