PDA

View Full Version : Parasite/roundworm worries.

WilyKitWilyKat
05-06-21, 16:33
Nothing too graphic)

Basically I’ve had this concern on and off for years ever since my brother and I started playing with the neighbours (sick looking) cat and my mum introduced poor hypochondriac me to worms, told us to wash our hands and change our clothes.

Since then we’ve taken this cat on and had a few vet visits. She was treated for fleas/skin condition and turned into a sleek healthy looking cat albeit a big belly. We have never wormed her as far as I know and the neighbours probably didn’t. So basically I’m afraid, generally in the summer when cat follows me around, that she might have worms and pass it onto us in some way.

Today I’ve had abdominal cramps/bloating and for months just felt very tired. Hopefully it’s just an iron deficiency. I’m particularly scared of roundworms/tapeworms. The thread type I can deal with.

Another thing that scares me the most is my baby sister- she’s about 1 and a half and loves playing out (under supervision). However with the cats business in one corner of the garden plus the fact she often chases the cat and tries to pet her, sometimes ending up touching her bottom, I’m really worried she might catch something. My mum is really unbothered about the whole thing and even if she’s touched her bottom she will only wash her hands when she’s ready to come inside, in which timeframe she will likely touch her face/mouth. I’ve tried appealing to her but she disregards me as paranoid. But I’m not, am I? How do I convince her? Also I wash my hands very (too) well after touching the cat myself so technically I should be fine. More worries for my sister.

Carys
05-06-21, 17:38