PDA

View Full Version : Floaters in the eyes and spark type bits when looking at bright sky. Worried!

MrAlexander88
19-06-21, 13:47
Hi guys. So for as long as I can remember I've had floaters in my eyes. I have been wearing glasses for about 16/17 years since my teens. I'm now 32. I have been suffering anxiety for about a decade. It goes from mild to bad at times which obviously sucks. Anyway, I've recently had more floaters in my eyes and little spark type things when I look at the sky. It's hard to explain the latter things, but I've also had those for a few years too. I'm wondering if they are anxiety related and there's a connection. Obviously I need to book an appointment with the opticians, which I will do next week, but in the meantime I just wanted a little advice if you have any.

dorabella
19-06-21, 17:40
Floaters are pretty common - I've had them for years. I think anxiety and stress can exacerbate them and also induce the flashes you are talking about - if you are straining your eye muscles. I've had more problems the last 6 months due to the continued lockdowns - spending more time indoors, more laptop use with home working(not good as the back lighting on a laptop is not as good as an office-based PC). Sometimes when I go out into broad daylight I feel as if I am walking in a mist until my eyes settle and can focus again.

You could go to optician if you are worried but they will most likely just give you a prescription for stronger glasses. Personally I have 3 pairs of differing strengths for different types of activity - I alternate them in order to exercise my eye muscles.

Kuraimoar
19-06-21, 21:39
I remember talking with my mother about the floaters in my eyes when I looked at the sky when I was about 10 years old. I'm 30 now and still have them. I'm sure its normal

Fishmanpa
19-06-21, 22:00