PDA

View Full Version : Prostate Cancer

StarsDie
03-08-21, 16:53
So I saw my doctor today about my tailbone pain and peeing frequency. He checked my urine and there were higher than normal white blood cells. He prescribed me an antibiotic on the basis of the probability of it being prostate inflammation or a UTI.

I'm convinced that it's prostate cancer, as I have been peeing a lot for a few years now. But I'm 33 so the idea is perceived as ludicrous.

The antibiotic is supposed to go for 2 weeks. That would be 2 weeks of having to wait until I can just get my prostate checked by a urologist.

I'm not doing well.

AbyssalStars
05-08-21, 02:47
Hello! I'm sorry you are going through this. I know absolutely nothing about prostate cancer (in part because I don't have the right equipment to worry about it), but I understand how it would be worrisome for you.

I deal with recurrent UTIs and the like, and I have to pee a lot because of them. I also pee a lot when I am anxious (like when I need to make a long road trip since I don't like driving). I also seem to pee a lot when I am focused on bladder issues. Also if I drink more water than usual. So it is possible that these more benign things are also responsible for your greater peeing frequency. Try to focus on the least serious and most likely causes first, and see if your symptoms improve with antibiotics.

As for the 2 week wait, maybe try to limit Google and avoid anything relating to prostate cancer? Maybe try to get your mind to focus on other things; like a good book, baking, cooking, whatever hobbies and interests that you may have. Just try to keep preoccupied so that your mind doesn't spiral back to health worries. That is probably easier said than done.

StarsDie
05-08-21, 05:39