PDA

View Full Version : Hi, my name is Jackie.

spidergrrl
13-11-07, 17:39
Hi everybody! My name is Jackie (still) and I'm 29. I've been in a relationship for 12 years and we have no children. I work as an executive assistant for a family member about five months out of the year. I also volunteer, read a lot, play computer/video games, walk the dog, and write.

How did I end up here?

About three weeks ago, I went for my annual ladies' exam. Listening to my heart, the nurse thought she heard a 1/6 murmur. She asked me if I had taken any medication. Yes, I had- Claritin D. She said as they had never heard the murmur before (she's been doing my exams/physicals for about 13 years now), she'd attribute it to the Claritin D I took about an hour and a half before. ECG showed nothing. I had no pain, no shortness of breath, and no problems otherwise. I did have a slight infection, bacterial in nature, and I took two antibiotics in the office for it. I went home fine with my yearly, regular scrip for BCP.

A few days later, I noticed a shortness of breath. I ignored it as allergies for a day (it didn't feel NOT like allergies, so...). I didn't take any more Claritin, though, as I thought it might cause more problems than it fixed. The shortness of breath developed a little and I decided to go to the doctor. The doctor listened to my heart and lungs and took a history and asked questions (imagaine! :)) and then said because of the drought we are suffering and the huge number of spores and pollen in the air from the lack of rain and cold weather, quite a number of people were coming in with allergies, bronchitis, and other lung issues. He diagnosed it as bronchitis caused by and in conjunction with a respiratory infection.