PDA

View Full Version : Russia/Ukraine Anxiety

ErinKC
25-02-22, 19:40
I am having a really hard time today with panic re: escalating war with Russia. I’m American and know at this moment I’m entirely safe and I’m no way want to minimize the actual horror people are facing right now, but I’m also an avid student of the Cold War and know more than I want to about the potentially catastrophic consequences of this. I just can’t get myself to calm down no matter how many times I take a deep breath and remind myself it’s out of my control. I just want to pick my daughter up early from school and all be together. I couldn’t sleep last night because with the time difference I was afraid something would happen overnight. I know I can’t be the only one having a hard time.

Angiee74
25-02-22, 23:54
Hello, I am also anxious about all this . We have to speak positive stuff out loud. We have to manifest it . Think positive there is not really much we can do about this just pray we will be okay. Go do something fun today to help with the fear .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Panicattacka
26-02-22, 05:45
What's the point worrying about geopolitical events that you can personally do zero about? I mean, you could try and flee to New Zealand or Tierra Del Fuego or somewhere deep in the southern hemisphere, but other than that, what? Might as well enjoy each day that you have.

MyNameIsTerry
26-02-22, 07:04
I think we have to place trust in world leaders. They often can seem a bunch of numpties but remember they are just a figurehead over a whole machine behind which does the real work.

You're a student of history so how many times in the modern world have we seen the potential for disaster yet it hasn't happened because people do end up working together? The fall of the USSR will be one you will know well. Remember all those nuclear weapons floating about? Yet we remained safe. How many wars occur and how many are scuffles, policing actions or just sabre rattling?