PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on doctor avoidance

rc906
02-06-22, 18:31
Hey everyone,

I hope you are all having happy, anxiety free days. I hope that I'm posting this in the right forum, if not, just let me know and I will happily delete and post elsewhere.

I just wanted to share my experiences with doctor avoidance. I know that there are many of us on here who overuse the doctor and don't believe what they say. I can't speak to your experience because mine has been the opposite. I know there are plenty of us who refuse to see the doctor because we are afraid of what they might tell us.

So, I've been battling health anxiety for over 20 years. I've had years where I had no issues whatsoever and years where I moved from one thing to the next and lived in a constant state of stress and fear. Over the past decade or so, I have avoided the doctors office for various reasons (lack of insurance being one, but in a way, that was just an excuse). In that time period, I have obsessed over things ranging from somewhat plausible (diabetes, infections) to the wildly unlikely (kidney failure, male breast cancer, under-40 prostate cancer, you get the idea) and never having a concrete answer for my issues has turned me into a person who spirals over everything. The fear of not-knowing has led me from a person who catastrophizes on occasion, to an obsessive-compulsive symptom checker to the point that I have physically harmed myself (not in major ways, but I've ripped off skin tags that have led to infections, that kind of thing), all because no matter what I did, no matter how much NMP or reddit reassurance I got, deep down I never ever knew the truth.