PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone, this is my first post

lisarose
14-02-05, 11:23
Hi everyone this is my first post and I am a bit unsure of how to use these message boards so you will all have to be patient with me while I get used to them. My name is Lisa and I am 30 years old, I live with my partner Jon and I have 2 children age 11 & 5. I have been suffering with Panic Attacks, anxiety and depression for nearly 5 years since my son was 5 months old and it was diagnosed as post-natal depression. I tried many medications which were of no help until last August when I was put on Effexor by a new GP. I had been drinking quite heavily for a couple of years and stopped drinking when I started the Effexor. I found this drug to be very helpful and becuase i wasn't drinking I wasn't having so many panic attacks as I think the alcohol brought them on. I have been on effexor for nearly 6 months but tried to come off them on my own 3 days ago and go cold turkey. This was the worst thing I could have done as all my old symptoms returned and I went through the most horrendous withdrawal. I gave in last night and had to go back on them as I couldn't stand it any longer and I definately won't be trying that again. I would like to know if anyone else has been through the same thing.

I look forward to hearing from you all.

Tracy68
14-02-05, 12:20
Hi Lisarose
First of all welcome to the site, everyone is great and help and support you no end :D. Secondly....yes I've been thru it. After the birth of my second daughter i suffered with depression and the doctor put me on prozac. Took them for about five months and felt so much better that i decided to take myself off them, worse thing i could ever do. I hit rock bottom with such a bang i actually felt worse than before i went on them. Went back to doctors and got a telling off (to be expected i guess). Went back on them and then gradually came off which was so much better.
Take care
Tracy
xx

henri
14-02-05, 12:35
Hi lisarose,