PDA

View Full Version : Deeply concerned about my mum

Toby2000
18-09-22, 18:56
Hi everyone,

So my 54-year-old mum went to "eye casualty" yesterday because the vision in her right eye was flickering and fading.

They chalked it down to nerve damage; I was originally scared that it was a brain tumor causing it but they did blood tests and she's severely anemic.

Severe anemia can cause problems with eye sight - she went to hospital today for a blood transfusion.

As someone who was terrified that I, myself, had bowel cancer, I'm now concerned that my mum has it, as bleeding tumors in the bowel can cause anemia.

Obviously I'm not a doctor but what else could it be? I asked if she had a heavy period and she hasn't.

They also gave her a chest x-ray because she used to smoke and that was all clear.

So they're performing tests and getting to the bottom of it but obviously I'm fearing the worst.

Does anyone know any benign causes of severe anemia?

Thanks

Siffi
18-09-22, 20:51
Hello Toby,
Sorry to hear about your mum. Hope she gets better.
Usually anaemia can be caused by a malabsorption issue in the bowels (coeliac disease, ulcerative collitis), iron/B12 deficiency , bleeding from somewhere (could be a stomach ulcer) and viral infections that can dissolve red blood cells. So it is not always a malignant cause, but at least it is being dealt with promptly. Please keep us updated.

Toby2000
18-09-22, 21:11
Hello Toby,
Sorry to hear about your mum. Hope she gets better.
Usually anaemia can be caused by a malabsorption issue in the bowels (coeliac disease, ulcerative collitis), iron/B12 deficiency , bleeding from somewhere (could be a stomach ulcer) and viral infections that can dissolve red blood cells. So it is not always a malignant cause, but at least it is being dealt with promptly. Please keep us updated.

Thanks so much for the reply. Hopefully it's something innocent like that.

Toby2000
19-09-22, 08:15