PDA

View Full Version : How to approach my therapist during this tough time

Flying Stars
24-10-22, 11:38
Hi all

This is my first time back in a while and any advice would be appreciated.

I've had health anxiety/anxiety for several years now (losing my mom/nan suddenly as a teenager, tricky relationships and high pressurised job in my 20s etc). I'm 31 now, and although I have lived with an ex/had my own place before, I've found it really difficult moving out of the family home again after lockdown and into my own flat.

My dad is 78 and has always been very active - driving and working full-time - until Xmas last year when he had a severe reaction to the Covid booster and has since been diagnosed with severe depression and anxiety (obviously we're not a good mix together lol). I've always found him to be the strong one and encourage me but now it feels like I've somewhat lost that. I have an older brother who doesn't speak to me and my dad lives in a big house which I now feel is my responsibility as well as my own flat and (still) a high pressurised job (which I'm doing well at, thankfully, I work from my flat mostly).

The last few days (I had annual leave) and its been the worst anxiety experiences I've had. I've felt like I'm going mad. I don't have much faith in the doctors and I've always managed to stay clear of anxiety/depression meds.

I've had a therapist for a few years now, and she's been an amazing help, but I feel more and more lately after our sessions I'm feeling worse. She is encouraging me not to visit my dad's as much, to focus on myself alone and to keep moving forward with less contact at home and to properly move all my belongings out.

However, I've never felt this lonely before and although I get reasons why she may give the advice (that me being with my dad being so depressed and not wanting to take responsibility is making me worse - which to an extent it is) but I can't carry it through, hence I feel bad after sessions.