PDA

View Full Version : Climbing chalk

Cannotstopworrying
19-11-22, 22:07
Hi all,

I have been climbing for a couple of years and been using climbing chalk.

For some reason it has only just dawned on me that I have probably breathed in a lot of chalk dust.

I am now absolutely panicking I have caused myself a health issue with my lungs. Not sure if I should be panicking but my brain has gone in over drive now :-(

ServerError
19-11-22, 22:11
Well you definitely shouldn't be panicking because what will that achieve? Look at this way - there are thousands (millions?) of people around the world who enjoy climbing regularly. How many of them become ill as a result of it? I don't actually know what the risk is like with regularly climbling chalk surfaces, but I'm betting it's not so significant as to warrant panic. I'd bet the benefits of your hobby far outweigh the health risks.

Cannotstopworrying
20-11-22, 07:07
Well you definitely shouldn't be panicking because what will that achieve? Look at this way - there are thousands (millions?) of people around the world who enjoy climbing regularly. How many of them become ill as a result of it? I don't actually know what the risk is like with regularly climbling chalk surfaces, but I'm betting it's not so significant as to warrant panic. I'd bet the benefits of your hobby far outweigh the health risks.

I am worried if it will cause something similar to Silicosis?

Paul84
20-11-22, 11:19

I have Health Anxiety but I wouldn't even give this a second thought if I was in your position.
You have an incredibly challenging but, I'm sure, rewarding hobby - I am envious mate.
Be proud that you push your body to climb and that it is strong enough to do so.
Know that, the benefits will far outway any "risks" from using the chalk.

Carys
20-11-22, 14:31