PDA

View Full Version : Did anyone not experience side effects?

Sparkling_Fairy
26-03-23, 18:28
I’ve been contemplating going on anti anxiety medication for 8 years now. But I keep holding off, mainly out of fear of side effects.
My anxiety levels are extremely high right now and I can barely cope, let alone if they get worse.
I’m dealing with a lot of nausea right now and I worry they are just going to make it worse.

However I have a friend who took them for a year and said she didn’t have a single side effect.

I know people would mostly post about side effects, rather than not having any side effects.
So I just wanted to hear if there were any people on here that took them and had no side effects.

panic_down_under
26-03-23, 23:56
Not everyone experiences side-effect and most only develop mild ones. It is the few who do have severe responses that mostly post in support groups. Plus, not all side-effects are necessarily due to the med. Expect to suffer greatly and an anxious mind is very capable of creating our worst nightmare for us even with sugar placebo pills. :weep:

The trick is to start on a low dose, no more than half the recommended starting dose, and to ramp it up by the same amount every week or so which should moderate side-effects severity. There are also ways of treating most initial side-effects. For example, ginger and/or vitamin B6 supplements can significantly ease nausea.

Have you discussed taking antidepressants (ADs) with your doctor? Is so, did the GP recommend a particular AD?

Sparkling_Fairy
27-03-23, 19:37
Yeah, she put me on Setraline. I picked up the prescription today so will start then tomorrow.
She prescribed me 50mg, but wants me to start on 25mg for 5 days.
Does that sound too high?

panic_down_under
28-03-23, 00:11