PDA

View Full Version : Worst relapse

busterrufus
31-03-23, 14:59
I’ve not posted here for a long time. I’m pretty desperate at the moment.
I’ve suffered with anxiety and depression for over 12 yrs. I’ve had several relapses but never one as bad as this. I’ve been doing quite well for a few years but last march my husband became Ill and went on the waiting list for an op. My fathers health began to decline in June and my brother and I did most of the caring for him until he passed away in September. Obviously these situations brought a great deal of worry, grief and stress with them. My husband had his op 6 weeks ago and is doing well. I expected to feel relief and a positive feeling of being able to move on with life.In contrast my anxiety symptoms flared up a month ago and are severe, as bad as ever. Anxiety attacks nearly every day which Include feelings of terror, palpitations, vomiting , tight muscles , dizzness, breathlessness, shaking, etc. leave me afraid, and the feeling of anxiety is constant. I feel like I just can’t bear it. Saw a dr a few days ago who increased my dose of antidepressant and put me back on omezaprazole. I’m trying to get out and about for a walk every day, doing breathing exercises and relaxation every day. Nothing is having the slightest positive effect yet. I feel as though I’m in a deep pit that I can’t get out of. I know the past year was very stressful, but I can’t understand why I’m in this relapse when things should have been getting a bit better, not worse. I’m 68 now and really feel as I will not get over this relapse. Constant morbid thoughts. Has anyone else got worse, when the situation should be getting better?
Thank you so much for reading, I would appreciate advice.

Catkins
01-04-23, 07:17
Give yourself time, you've had an awful lot to deal with and there is no quick fix. Whenever I have a blip I go back to basics, do as much grounding work as I can, guided meditation, yoga and I talk to people (especially on here).