PDA

View Full Version : Persistent fears of Dementia, going crazy etc

Ida123
13-11-23, 01:45
Hello this is my first time posting here. I'll try to keep this brief.

I have a history of health anxiety going back to when I was 14 years old. I am 27 now and I regularly go through month long bouts of intense health anxiety shifting from one focus to another. I've worried about just about every possible condition and disease but what triggers my anxiety the idea of progressive conditions that would erode my mind, my memory, my sense of self. (dementia, tumour, schizophrenia etc) This has mostly manifested in the past 8 years. The idea pops into my head that I'm not as sharp as I used to be, that my memory is worse or that I can't handle multitasking as well, or that my thoughts are less organized than they used to be. I, of course, start ruminating and analysing my own mind. I hyperanalyze my own thoughts. Every single time I have a brain fart and forget to clock out a work, or it takes me a moment to remember what day of the week it is, or I forget an appointment or something, I spiral. I worry my mind is eroding away and that I'm a shell of who I once was.

I try to reassure myself by considering how common a mistake the mistake was or something but that just causes me to ruminate more and more. It'll get to the point where assessing my own cognitive abilities is a secondary mental task that I'm doing all the time. This, unsurprisingly, makes me very distracted and causes me to make more mistakes. An important thing to note is that I have ADD and my executive functioning has probably always been poor, I've always struggled in school and professional settings. I try to remind myself of this. I remind myself that my brain has struggled more with certain things and that my own anxiety is probably exacerbating it, but even still it terrifies me, I can't stop thinking about it.