PDA

View Full Version : A little angry at my old doctor

izzybizzy
22-12-23, 14:32
Feeling a little annoyed today, a while ago I had requested a blood test because I just wasn’t feeling right, I had enveloped raynauds, and muscle weakness and yes I was scared about autoimmune which was an anxiety type worry but I knew I didn’t feel right, I was sometimes falling asleep during the day really easy and a faster heart rate.

That doctor told me no to a blood test, she said I probably eat a good diet so I wouldn’t be deficient in anything and blood test would just make me more anxious. I did feel a bit defeated as I felt not listened to. And I’m not a serial doctor visitor, they do know I have anxiety disorder though.

I ended up changing doctors as I just felt they didn’t care and always say everything is anxiety. At my new doctors, they listened to everything I said and actually told me there was small chance I had autoimmune but more likely I was deficient in something. So they did a full blood test and no I’m not autoimmune but I am very low on iron and my doctor thinks my symptoms have been caused by this.

I know I need to just be glad I know now. But I hate feeling gaslit by GP’s who’d rather just pin everything on anxiety and make you feel like you’re making up your symptoms. Again I could understand if I was constantly at the doctors with vague symptoms that always amounted to nothing but I’m not and haven’t been. I usually avoid doctors as it makes me more anxious.

Just needed to get that off my chest. I started my iron today, swallowed my first tablet in like 8 years and was anxious about it but I know it’s going to do me good. So there are some positives and I’ve got a super nice new GP who does listen to me.

ErinKC
29-12-23, 15:01