PDA

View Full Version : Hello All

pikefish
28-12-07, 11:30
I have just joined and am not quite sure what it is that I am looking for. I left work in early November having been off sick for the previous 6 months with anxiety and stress brought about by major changes in my work role. I was a senior manager in the Civil Service managing a large, (over 55 people) internationally dispersed team. Contrary to popular belief, the Civil Service is not always a supportive employer. My own line manager took 11 weeks to make an initial contact with me (after I had sent in my sick notes and my wife had telephoned him explaining what was happening to me. In fact out of 3 attempts to telephone him she only manage to make personal contact with him once), and that was to tell me to hurry up and get back to work (actually written more diplomatically but that was the gist of the letter). This, in my eyes, indifference towards me, was actually more stressful to me than the work issues that caused my original illness. Eventually I decided that I would be better off leaving. Indeed I did feel much improved. But what do I do now?

I had some CBT and drugs. Both of which have finished but been helpful. My big problem is that I am physically well, and because of this have felt a fraud throughout my whole illness. Our household income has dropped by 2/3rds since November and whilst it is enough to live on, I feel very motivated to address the problem that I have caused. My wife has been extremely supportive, but I do not want her to have to shoulder the financial burden alone.