PDA

View Full Version : Fear of fear

BRYYAN
07-01-08, 20:46
Hi all,

I am a successful teacher of sixty-one and have always to a certain degree suffered panic attacks and and anxiety, once ended up in hospital. I do not take any medication after a bad experience with Paxil. I joined the site because I feel under constant anxiety. Especially recently as my sister died after falling down stairs at the age of sixty-nine, she was suffering from Alzheimer's disease.

I have since read that it can be hereditary and now I find that I am constantly analysing myself. Sometimes I cannot remember words or famous peoples names. I start to panic and go through the symptoms, fear laboured breathing, yawning etc. But I can always remember the words or name after about a minute when I have calmed down. Is this the start of the disease?

All this anxiety is spoiling the quality of my life which in many ways would be the envy of many. Lovely wife, family, home, plenty of money, new Mercedes, very happy and successful in my work, no problems whatsoever. Is what is happening to me the price I have to pay for happiness, I don't really know.

I would appreciate any form of advice help or encouragement to enable me to deal with this destructive condition.

Many thanks,

Brian

Yvonne
07-01-08, 21:20
Brian

I don't think it's Alzeimers. I also forget words and names and then when I try NOT to remember them - maybe 5 minutes later the name comes to me. It's weird how the mind works but sometimes trying to remember something is not the way to remember ---- it's when our mind is distracted by something else - then the name/word comes to us.

I think this is all to do with part of our condition and I don't think it's anything to worry about. We have tired minds that's all.