PDA

View Full Version : I'm new here

worriedGrace
16-01-08, 16:12
Hello Everyone

I found this wonderful site by chance. I would like to introduce myself to you all. I am 59 and have sufferedfrom anxiety since I was 10 years old.Both my parents were anxious people and that fact that they had lost a three year old daughter before I was born made them very protective of me. Since childhood I have worried about health problems and when I left school I worked in a hospital office which I shared with a lady whose job was to go through all the notes of cancer sufferers which she would often read to me. You can see now how I developed a cancer phobia!

I have had medication for anxiety and depression and was hospitalised with post natal depression after the birth of my second child. At the moment I am on Duselpin for anxiety and Ramipril for high bloodpressure. I also suffer from quite a lot of allergies some of which are quite serious and have led to anaphalaxis. This all adds to my anxiety.

I have been reasonably stable for the last ten years despite losing both parents but about six years ago I developed symptoms of IBS and became very worried. My grandmother died of bowel cancer and I was convinced that I would too. My GP is very kind and sent me for a barium enema which found nothing wrong and for a while I was reassured but then I started thinking that I should have had a colonoscopy.

A few weeks ago I lost my last old Aunt and all my worried have returned with a vengeance. I've had two bouts of diarrhoea in a week and although I put on a good face at work I go to pieces when I am alone. My children think it is all a huge joke and that it is just the way I am but I am fed up with the worry and misery. I have noticed that real events don't have the same effect on me but I have spent my life worrying about things that never happen.

I think that is enough for the moment but I would welcome anyone's advice.

chalky
16-01-08, 16:25
Hi Grace,
Welcome to NMP!