PDA

View Full Version : New user

LizzyN
08-03-05, 12:27
Hi there, I'm new to all this so hope I'm doing this right. I suffer from panic attacks and have recently had some hypnotherapy sessions to try to help me deal with them. I actually find them really uncomfortable and have decided that I won't go back as I'm sure at the very least I'm supposed to be comfortable with them.

A friend of a friend of mine suggested that I find a cognitive behavioural therapist as they can help??? Can anyone shed any light on what this is and whether it will help with panic attacks? I live near Chelmsford in Essex so if anyone knows of anyone local that would be great. Am I on the right bit to ask this???? Let me know - thanks

Liz

lisarose
08-03-05, 12:59
Hi Liz, Welcome to the forum, I am sure you will find it very helpful as everyone here is very friendly. CBT is a form of psychotherapy. it centres on the concept that in some people, unwanted behaviours or moods can result from distorted patterns of thinking and that these behaviours or moods can be altered by changing thinking patterns and the way we view situations. Therapists use techniques of talk therapy to help you replace negative beliefs and thought patterns with positive ones. I have never tried it myself but have heard good things about it. Are you on any medication for your panic attacks?

There are probably alot of people on this site who have tried it or are going through it at the moment so i am sure they will advise you better than I can.

Take care
Love Lisaxx

razocaine_07
08-03-05, 13:32
hi liz, welcome, i hope u settle in this place properly. CBT can be extremely beneficial to anxiety sufferers. im on my second course of it and it is of great support to me.

jill
08-03-05, 14:17
Hi Liz,

Welcome to the site,

There are lots on nice people here who will
help and support you.

TAKE CARE LOVE JILLXXX

Great changes may not happen right away,
but with effort the difficult may become easy.

sal
08-03-05, 14:35