PDA

View Full Version : Hyperventilating - or not?

ChristopherJ
12-02-08, 01:32
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. I have a question about breathing and panic attacks. I have read that hyperventilating can be part of a panic attack - indeed, can bring one on. Well, OK, I can understand that - but I can't work out when or if I am hyperventilating - or is it normal strong breathing?

Thing is, one trigger for my panic attacks is physical exercise. So my heart beats faster and I breathe quicker - but then it can all go haywire and I start getting all the panic thoughts about having a heart attack and my breathing is heavier than normal. It quickly escalates into major panic attack.

I am trying to work out if my heavy breathing (hyperventilating?) is bringing on the panic attack or not. Or is it at least making it worse? And how do I control my breathing? I've tried breathing slower, but I don't know what is fast and what is slow.

Hope I'm making sense here. Love to all of you. :flowers:

Bill
12-02-08, 04:36
Hello Christopher,

I start getting all the panic thoughts about having a heart attack and my breathing is heavier than normal. It quickly escalates into major panic attack.

It's Not how you're breathing that's the problem, it's what you're "thinking".

1) You begin to exercise,
2) your heart rate quickens,
3) you feel it thudding,
4) you start "thinking" what if you cause yourself to have a heart attack
5) your adrenalin starts pumping
6) you feel your heart thudding even more
7) you begin to "worry" because of the sensations of a thudding heart due to the adrenalin being produced.
8) your breathing quickens and becomes shallow
9) you experience a panic attack

So in other words it's your "worry" about having a heart attack that creates adrenalin making your heart thud louder which then makes you worry even more about having a heart attack which then causes you to panic making your breathing quicken which then causes your panic attack.