PDA

View Full Version : Breathlessness

Chunky
15-02-08, 12:26
Hi everyone,

I am new to this and this is my first post but i have had anxiety on and off for a number of years now but until this current epsiode i have never had the breathlessness/ difficult in breathing feelings, which is quite scary.
Please can any of you out there who get the same feeling please describe how it feels to you and how long in your experience it lasts for, hours, days, weeks?
I feel like i have to make a real effort to draw breath each time, mychest is constantly tight, my mouth and lips are really dry and i can feel each breath.
Thanks,
:yesyes:

chalky
15-02-08, 14:15
Hi Chunky,

All of your symptoms are classic anxiety/panic attack symptoms.
The body has a fight or flight mechanism in response to percieved threats.
In Panic,our body readies us to fight or run-we want to use the loo(clearing our bowels and bladder allows us to run away more quickly).Our chest muscles constrict thus affecting our breathing-we breath more shallow breaths.
Dry mouth is also a response to panic.
If necessary,use a brown paper bag to assist correct breathing.Concentrate on abdominal breathing-your stomach should rise and fall when breathing properly.This will also loosen the tight chest feeling.
Accept that it is panic and that it will pass.
A little Mantra-This too shall pass-can be repeated to help you through.
You are experiencing what lots of us have here already and we are all still here.
It is disturbing,even frightening but your body is strong enough to cope with this and much more.
Best wishes,
Chalky

gtrgrl3369
15-02-08, 14:28