PDA

View Full Version : Starting a new job

lucy0927
22-02-08, 17:12
Hi everyone,

I'm starting a new job on Monday and I'm getting a little worked up about it. It's in the same department that I work at the moment but it's a step up and it's going to be managing people and sounds like it's going to be a lot of hard work.

I'm terrifed of something but I can't put my finger on what it is. Where I am at the moment, I love the people I work with but the work has become mundane and I've done it for too long so I know I need to leave. I'm stepping out of my comfort zone and I'm scared to death that I'm going to fail and not be able to do the work, even though everyone says I'll be okay. I'm also scared that I'll be working with people I've never worked with before and I'm really big on who I work with, for me a lot of the motivation is my colleagues and I'm scared I'm leaving behind a good team for some people I won't like, even though I'll see my old colleagues every day - all I'm doing is moving down to the other end of our office.

Why am I so scared and anxious, moving to management is a big step but i'm losing all confidence in myself and wondering why I applied in the first place. I know I did it because I need to move upwards now, I can't stay in my comfort zone forever, but I'm scared that if i'm this anxious about moving just down the office, how will I be when I leave the company.

I'm probably not making much sense but it's helped a little to write it down. If anyone has any suggestions on how to build up confidence when moving into management or changing jobs etc I'd be really grateful.

Thanks,
Lucy x

cardmaker
22-02-08, 18:06
Hugs Lucy :hugs: