PDA

View Full Version : Back to it!

Loobs
29-02-08, 00:39
Hi everybody, I'm Loobs, and very new to all this so please be nice to me! I just wish that I could say that I'm new to panic and depression though! I have suffered from anxiety for many years, it started when my son died from a cot death, I tried to carry on as normal, even when I was grieving really badly, but other people seemed to ask me so many questions that I wasn't able to answer. I felt it was safer to stay at home than go out and face people and when I did go out, as soon as I started to talk to people I would become so anxious and panicky I just wanted to run, it started to happen at the thought of going out of the front door alone. I went on to have a lovely little girl a year later, I was a total bag of nerves everytime she slept, I didn't get a full nights sleep for at least 2 years, as I worried about her constantly. But thankfully, she's grown up now and is Miss independant. At the time though, I was given lots of medication to help me to sleep, which didnt work, I developed full blown aggoraphobia, but managed to get by with the help of my friends and family. Just as I seemed to get some life back and start to face the world again, my dad, who I was very close to died of bladder cancer and not long after this, my mother took her life as she couldnt get over her grandsons or my dads death. So it was back to square one. I moved towns and found that I came to terms with lots of things, it took time, but with help from a CPN and new antidepressants, I started to get my confidence back, the CPN had me facing all my fears (quite cruel eh!) but it worked, I found that this along side cognegtigue (cant spell it!) thinking helped. That was 3 years ago and I got stronger and stronger. Then while I was working at my local school, I was assaulted by a pupil, I was so humiliated and confused, that happened 3 months ago and I've gone backwards since then, the old panics have returned and I'm afraid to go