PDA

View Full Version : Panic attacks in relation to human physiology and evolution.

dlou84
09-03-08, 13:17
So I've long suffered from panic attacks and was fine for 22yrs of my life. Then I had ONE panic attack which put me in hospital then since I have the ability to have more. Yet before that first panic attack, I never had anything like it!

I studied human physiology and took a keen interest in human evolution.

It has helped me to understand what a panic attack is and why we have them.

We have all heard of the fight or flight in relation to panic attacks but im guessing most people dont understand the connection.

Firstly you have to forget about your life. Forget about your house. Forget about everything we use in this civilazation.

Because its important to note that we are the same human beings that once lived in caves. We have evolved socially medically scientifically and mentally (languages/knowledge etc) but our genetic makeup is the same.

Our bodies are setup and programmed for a life that we no longer live.

This is why we have these problems in the first place.

For example go to any tribe in africa or the like and you will not find any suffers of what we commonly share.

This is because everything we now suffer from is actually suvival techniques set in place to keep us alive.

When a human being is put in danger, our brain makes an instant change in our physiological state. Its instantanious and it cant be stopped, BUT THE TRIGGER OF IT CAN!!

If i was in the jungle now, and a lion was chasing my ass you bet your dam self im going to be running my ass off!!!!

So what happens to our bodies when faced with this situation?

Our puples dilate allowing us to take in and view more of the environment around us.

Oue hands sweat to give us more grip.

Adrenaline is released into the blood stream to give the body instant energy to escape the situation we are in.