PDA

View Full Version : My OCD Story

City of the Damned
18-03-08, 11:06
Hi guys, I'm a 20 year old male, i think i have ocd and my life sucks because of it.
This is my first time talking about it to anyone, but i want to get this off my chest and hopefully get some advice.

I was always very normal growing up, these problems started maybe 6 months ago.

where do i start?
well, i'll start with handwashing, i wash my hands all the time.
When i use the bathroom, i spend at least 10-15 mins washing my hands over and over, after 20 seconds i know my hands are clean, but i can't stop washing them over and over again, my hands are red and very dry, i use hand cream which helps, also i'm scared to dry my hands with the towel in the bathroom, so i buy my own paper towels and dry my hands with them.

going to the bathroom is such a pain, because i know i will be in there for 20 mins washing my hands, so now it's gotten to the point where i hold off going until the very last min.

My mother is also mad because before i go into the bathroom water is hot, when i leave the water is ice cold due to me having it running for so long, lol

Also, When i get a shower, i feel clean, but i won't dry myself with the bath towels as i think they are dirty even tho they are fresh & washed, so i just put on new clothes while i'm still wet.

''Locking doors/Windows''

Every night before i go to bed, i'm always the last one awake, i can't go to bed until i lock every door/window and then spend an hour walking around checking & re checking to make sure they really are locked.
The window in my bedroom gives me the most pain, i am checking that it's closed every half hour, over and over again, i think if it's open someone will get in and steal everything or a cat will get in and ''relieve itself'' on my bed/clothes/computer chair, etc

I am never relaxed, these thoughts run through my mind all day.

'Leaving the house'