PDA

View Full Version : Gaaaargh! Upper abdominal pain

seeker
26-03-08, 18:51
I'm so peeved. I have recurring abdominal pain, and it's happening agian. Upper right quadrant, in exactly the same place, right under my right rib. it's a constant, burning pain, as if a hot pebble were there at all times. I'm also going to the loo more often than normal.

I've had investigations and been diagnosed with a hiatus hernia, which can cause heart burn, but am not convinced this is it. I had an ultrasound of gall bladder and kidneys, and they are both fine. I'm sure it's not anxiety caused, as I'm not anxious about anything at the moment (unlike previous incidences) - the pain is definitely causing the anxiety, not the other way round.

Sigh. Back to the docs for me. Irritatingly, I am worried it may be my pancreas, so am abstaining from alchohol - been four days now! :noangel:

However, I reeeeeaaaalllly want just a small glass of red wine. I'm a teacher, and bought myself a really nice bottle to have over the holidays...it's sitting looking delicious in front of me.

I might have a small glass with dinner and see how I feel.

Not sure why I am posting, really....just cross with myself for getting worked up again. On the plus side, I have not convinced myself it is anything fatal, which is good!

jill
27-03-08, 23:12
Hi Seeker,

Sorry to hear you have been diagnosed with a hiatus hernia, my mum has this and it took her along time to understand that certain foods and drinks kicked it off, causeing a lot of pain. She does have meds for hers which doc, gave and only takes it when she needs to, at first she used it alot, bacuase she did not really know what food or drinks where kicking it off, she spoke to a women who said that cabbage kicked hers off, which is strange, you would think that a veg would be ok, but not for this lady, it kicked her hernia off for some reason.