PDA

View Full Version : new to all this

teabag
16-04-08, 22:11
my name is teabag and i am 28. I am very new to all of this and am delighted that i found this website. I have been diagnosed with Anxiety and depression which i am sure you all know about.
The thing i am having trouble with is believing that the physical symptoms are created by me and not some god awful disease.
I have been having a sort of fluttering feeling under my skin all over. This is not constant but comes on when i'm trying to relax. Of course i looked it up on google and scared myself to death. My breathing is screwed up and my muslces feel achy and tired and even though i tell myself every day that its anxiety, my brain tells me that it is MS/ALS/HIV- basically anything. (i have to add here that google told me more than i needed to know about the symptoms of ALS)... Instead of google i now come on here.
I guess the reason i'm writing this is because it feels like i am connecting to people who understand and don't think i'm mad. This has been happening for a year and fingers crossed with the help of CBT i will be able to get the stillness back.
Does anyone know whether the fluttering/twitching ever goes away? Also is anyone else finding it difficult to come off diazepam? Thanks- Teabag. :shrug:

bluebell68
16-04-08, 23:01
Hi Teabag.....:welcome: I suffer from HA too and have also had problems accepting my many symptoms are down to anxiety.... that, i think is the hardest thing to do ...but i do now accept that anxiety can produce so many physical symptoms so that when i get one of them i can at least suspect that it may be the cause... which is progress, i think...
The one thing i would say for certain DO NOT GOOGLE SYMPTOMS !!:ohmy:, whatever you do... cos we have all done it and it is never, ever reassuring ... i have scared the pants off myself so many times googling, so i resist the temptation at all costs now....