PDA

View Full Version : Need some reassurance

Cynical
21-04-08, 22:45
Hi, my name is Chris, this is my first time posting on here and actually first time posting anywhere about my panic attacks and anxiety. I am 18 years old and not too long ago I had my first real panic attack. I had trouble breathing, my chest was hurting, my legs were tingling and I felt dizzy and lightheaded. I kept thinking to myself "Oh my god I think I am having a heart attack". I went to the ER and they did an EKG, X-rays of my heart, bloodwork, etc. They told me it's just anxiety and that it will pass. They said they found some irregular breathing which caused me to have a higher level of carbon dioxide but if I started to breathe the way I was before it would pass. I did not feel too relieved because I was SO sure there was something else wrong with me...

Some time passed, about a month or so and I started to get more symptoms. I looked them up and found exactly everything that I was feeling was related to Anxiety and Panic Disorder. The article I read said "Many people who have these attacks mistake it for a heart attack". I thought that would relieve me but for some reason it didn't. I was just hoping this would pass and the next day I would wake up and feel fine.