PDA

View Full Version : My story

Zingara
22-04-08, 10:46
Hello,
I have had panic attacks and related problems for years on and off, so I am not a novice at all, but lately things have got so bad I feel that I will never recover, I feel so upset about being a burden to my family and my boyfriend. I am 29 years old and have a good educational background, I have two degrees, one in law and a masters in criminology, but despite this I have never really had a 'proper' job because my life has been punctuated with panic episodes, OCD, and nervous breakdowns. I had a total thyroidectomy in Sept last year, which went well surgically, but which seems to have triggered a breakdown. I am very upset and tearful all the time, I feel unbearably sad and terribly terribly anxious almost all of the time. I suffer very badly from physical agitation as well. I have been diagnosed with IBS, and suffer a lot from diarrhoea, which in itself is depressing and upsetting, and makes it very difficult to be spontaneous. Twice I have had to go home from my part-time work because of it. I am in such a state that I have just had to make an emergency doctor's appointment...I feel terrible. I can't imagine right now that I am ever going to get better.

Lilith1980
22-04-08, 10:59
Hi Samira

Welcome to NMP :)

I'm sorry to hear you are going through such a hard time right now. My Dr diagnosed me with IBS a few weeks back. I felt so ill and all I wanted to do was curl up in bed and hope the symptoms had gone when I woke up.

Being physically unwell or going through major physical things like operations are bound to take their toll on your mental wellbeing. If you are in pain or uncomfortable, this is going to effect you mentally as it takes mental strength to cope with the pain.

Have you been to see your GP about counselling for your anxiety? Do you think it would help to speak to someone about these things? You may find that helps if you are too worried to talk to your family or boyfriend :hugs: