PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best therapy?

Meewah
16-05-08, 21:22
Hi

Just reading all these threads and I cant stop thinking that all us HA suffers aren't doing ourselves any favours by obsessing over health issues. Easy to say I hear you all say,

I find the following bringing on the symptoms:-

Feeling a pain or strange symptom (oversensitised)
watching health articles on TV.
upsetting news.
Family saying they dont feel well.
Reading these threads.
going to the docs

I am not a health proffesional but I feel that as long as we have the all clear we should ride the urges to do the following:-

Google the symptoms
Look for the symptoms anywhere (inc here)
see the docs
sit in and drown in self pity

My symptoms go when I am occupied with something I enjoy.

So how come I am here? Well sometimes I want to relax and that is the worse time. I find myself unable to switch off and that is when the symptoms seemingly coome without any prompting except having a break and trying to relax. I have found that I have to occupy my mind even to relax. I have to force myself to concentrate on something to stop the over active mind and so my mind will never rest and that also feeds the over active state. The only way I can get any peace is if I try to meditate. This causes my mind to slow a little and start to rationalise things.

Hope you are not yawning by now.

Peace to all.

Mee

maz67
17-05-08, 12:44
:D Hi Meewah mine seem to get worse when i am sat on my own with nothing to do. The mind starts wandering so i have to get up and distract myself.

Anxiety arghhhh !!!!

Mandy xx

Emira7
17-05-08, 13:47
Very truw, for instance today I got the papers, and then read an article in the magazine about a lady who has something wrong with her heart that has caused her to die twice. Luckily her husband as resuscitated her and now she has a pacemaker thingie that shocks her.
However my biggest fear is dropping dead, along with heart stuff. So now I am panicking again.