PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm a newbie!

bazwelsh
19-05-08, 08:57
Hi

I'm glad I've found this forum.

My panic attacks began last year when I was due to go on a cruise of all things! I had to fly to the med 1st and then my mind started to play tricks. I imagined the absolute worst of everything including the plane crashing and the ship capsizing. Two weeks before I went my panic attacks started. I took diazipam, propanalol and the doctor started me on 10mg citalopram. We looked into cancelling the holiday but it cost thousands of pounds and was a special holiday (well it was meant to be!). Suffice to say that I did make the holiday. It wasn't brilliant, but I went.

I came off all the medication gradually and in february, I fininshed with citalopram.

I've got quite a lot on my plate and now we have a new dog. We already have one but we have decided to have another and guess what...my panic attacks are back.

I am really bad in the morning and by lunchtime/afternoon, I'm feeling better. The doctor has put me back on citalopram 10mg. I've been taking them for 1 1/2 weeks.

Will the mornings get better? I hate the mornings and weekends, I seem worse then. Will I improve on the citalopram, the doctor says it takes about a month on them before they are really working well?

Any experiences would be helpful or ideas for the mornings

thanks

ladygrom
19-05-08, 09:20
hi yes citalopram take bout month for them to realy kick in i was same as you and they worked well for me ;and welcome to nmp youl find great info on here and also make new friends tc xx and remember your certainly not alone x

decca
19-05-08, 09:29
Hi Bazwelsh and welcome to NMP,
My symptoms were always worse in the mornings and at weekends and yes it does get better.
I could just about get out of bed and have a wash then it would take 2 hours for my heart to to slow down and the palpitations to stop .