PDA

View Full Version : Hello, another newbie here!!!

AmyB
22-05-08, 13:54
Hi, I'm a 29 year old mother of 3 who has been suffering from anxiety and panic attacks on and off for the past 12 years.

The anxiety started when i was 17 when i was experiancing dizzy spells and a strange pressure behind my eyes. My GP diagnosed Labarynthitis and that it would eventually clear up. Things got worse and i was sure i was either suffering from a brain tumour or that the esctasy tablet i had taken in the past was had caused brain damage. I felt like i was in a dream and the world seemed strange like i was on drugs. I was prescribed Seroxat and eventually the anxiety passed.
Since then i have suffered two more bouts of anxiety in 1998 and 2001 with the same symptoms, pressure behind eyes, fear of brain tumours and that i was going mad along with the common symptoms of anxiety tingling hands,pounding heart, yawning, nausea etc and again luckely i came through it.

This time the anxiety is worse than ever, it started in November last year with dizziness and face pressure again. I was refered to an ENT consultant to cheak my sinuses but he could find nothing wrong so he thought it best to do a routine MRI to make sure it was nothing sinister. This is when the panic attacks started. The day the appointment letter arrived i experianced the worse panic attack of my life!! I was shaking like a leaf and was absoluely petrified that my life was ending and that the MRI scan would show a tumour. The night of this huge panic attack was the same night i was started on Citalopram so i'm not sure if this was related.
I didn't come out of the panic attack for over a week and was diagnosed as being in a 'constant anxious state'. I lost half a stone as i just kept vomiting and could barely get out of bed, i just felt safer under the quilt breathing into a paper bag to try and stop the panicy feelings.