PDA

View Full Version : a proper intro: new and hoping for acceptance

befuddled1
24-05-08, 12:38
Hello
My name's Beth, 27, socially anxious, and anxious about death and anxious in a number of other ways too. Been on here a few days but didn't really introduce myself properly so here it is. Despite the fact that I find the site useful and have posted quite a few times already, I also find this kinda anxiety provoking as it feels like another group of people who I need to find acceptance amongst. Does that sound silly?
As I said, it's useful too though, people seem nice and I relate to some of the issues on here.
I'm a student at the moment on a pretty hard course and anxiety makes it harder. I struggle with social anxiety and (some) paranoid thoughts amongst my peers and also struggle with my work because of anxiety/avoidance/low motivation - I don't know what it is to be honest but it seems to be here to stay!! Also got some health worries at the moment. So, if anyone is in need to of some worry or anxiety I have a bit too spare, and I can give you a good deal on it!
Would love to get to know people on here but am going to struggle with the social nature of the site, does anyone else experience this?
Yours anxiously,
Beth

lilly-lou
24-05-08, 12:49
Hi Beth,
I suffer from social anxiety I also have agoraphobia, I get what you are saying about finding acceptance I visited the site for a couple of days before I posted as I was so afraid of what others would think. I struggle really bad socially and don't trust many but everybody I spoke to here all seem to be really nice and supportive.

Trixie
24-05-08, 12:53
Hello there :D I am an extrovert, I am chatty and I love comedy. I have a lot of friends and go out to meet them every day. You might wonder why I am on this board, well I suffer from anxiety attacks which centre on my cat.

If I think he is ill I can feel my insides draining away I am on anti-depressants because of this.