PDA

View Full Version : help please!!

ben0
27-05-08, 12:35
hi, im 22 and i've been suffering from panic attacks over the past 3 months and its really messed with my life. Im a university student and my first attack occured just as i got into my car on the way to a mid term test, my heart started racing and i had trouble catching my breath. It lasted for around 10 minutes and it might sound silly but i thought at the time that i was having some kind of heart attack and that i was going to die. I immediately ran back into my house and tried to calm down which took all of half an hour by which time i had missed over half of the exam. It happened again before another test in the same circumstances as the first. I ended up going to the doctor after it happened for the second time and he refered me to our universitys counselling service however i find it hard to talk about my problems, face to face at least so i was hoping that there would be somone on these forums or on this site that could help me deal with the attacks.

Thanks
Ben

Mervyn
27-05-08, 14:02
Hi Ben,

I went through a period of sever panic attacks for about 8 months whe I was 35. I tried many different methods to help me cope and the one method that I found really worked was based on the teachings of Dr Claire weekes. Bascially she says that although extreme stress can cause panic attacks often the stressors have gone and we keep ourselves stresed because we are afraid of the feelings -its the tension we create when the panic waves come that causes the panic to get bigger and bigger. When I learnt to stop resisting/fighting the feelings and just let them come - things began to change !. It's not an instant cure could take 3 or 4 months for things to return to normal but the method works.

Please see the webiste below for some mp3 downloads of the method as used by a another panic attack sufferer:
http://www.controllinganxiety.com

Best wishes

Kate408
27-05-08, 14:12
Hi Ben,