PDA

View Full Version : trying not to wreck it again

gers
02-06-08, 10:15
Hi

Im new to this so please bear with me.
For the last9 years I feel as though it has been the worst of my life and wonder if life is really worth it. I split up with my childrens father, moved several hundred miles away to start a new career, my father died suddenly and quite young at 54, I couldnt do anything to help him, met somebody new, who ended up beating the living daylights out of me and then almost beat me to a pulp when I wouldnt re mortgage my house to bail him out of his debt problems, which I didnt know about until he had moved in with me, went to court, felt like I had done something wrong because I had started taking panic attacks, couldnt leave the house, was doped to the eyes with meds, and was begging him not to leave me. I know mental isnt it, but I thought I couldnt live without him.
Anyway, I done some counselling and some cbt and thought everything was hunky dory. I met a new man 18 months ago, who is an absolute diamond, and Ive started the panic crap again. I have suddenly lost the little confidence I had got back, Im paranoid he doesnt love me, his parents hate me, his mates hate me, im not good enough, I obsess about trying to be the perfect woman so as he wont leave me, and all im succeeding in doing is driving him away.
All of this stems from what I had drummed into me with the last idiot, and I dont know if now that the realtionship is getting serious it has freaked me out that I might get hurt again.
There is so much to this story, I feel like im a nutter. I know im a good person inside, but why is it soooo hard to get that out all the time, why do I panic, then become defensive, which is then taken to be aggressive, then I coz arguments and so on and so on.