PDA

View Full Version : claiming benefits

dennis51
05-06-08, 11:29
Hi Everyone!
I am claiming income support based incapacity of £60 per wk because of severe agoraphobia, i live on my own, and almost house bound.is their any other benifit i could claim as well? thanks.
my email is ds.stammers@googlemail.com thanks.

amandaj
05-06-08, 11:32
do you get incapacity benefit aswell as income support ? you can also claim for dla if cant go out as i get it cos of that

dennis51
05-06-08, 12:33
hi, thanks for your reply, i dont get incapacity as well as income support, not sure what you mean by dla! i am new to benifits im afraid.

amandaj
05-06-08, 12:35
disability living allowance , and im sure you can get incapacity benefit aswell as income support

nomorepanic
05-06-08, 12:48
Try this ....

http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=31125

decca
05-06-08, 13:46
Hi,
If you are getting income support and Incapacity benefit levels 1 and 2 may be deducted from your income support so it's swings and roundabouts.
However if you get level 3 incapacity benefit it will increase the amount of income support you get because it carries a disability premium,the same applies to Disability living allowance.
Also if you have a liability to pay Council tax or rent make sure you are claiming Housing benefit.

Best wishes
Decca.

amandaj
05-06-08, 14:56
i dont get a disability premium with my incapacity i get a age related premium ,if your over 35 you should get that also its an extra 20 pound a week on top of normal incapacity ,and even then its more than the 60 you get now

Chris W
07-08-11, 12:20
Hi Dennis

For the condition that you are suffering from, you may be entitles to the care component of Disability Living Allowance, (the level is dependant upon the severity of your condition). Also, if somebody accompany's you because of your condition you may be entitled to the lower mobility rate.
If you need any more information please do not hesitate to send me a message.

kirsty74